AAP and SP discuss seat sharing for UP elections

Public Lokpal
November 24, 2021

AAP and SP discuss seat sharing for UP elections

New Delhi: The Aam Aadmi Party on Wednesday said it has started talks with the Samajwadi Party over a seat-sharing agreement for the 2022 assembly elections in Uttar Pradesh.

AAP's Rajya Sabha MP Sanjay Singh made this announcement after meeting SP chief Akhilesh Yadav in Lucknow. There have been meetings between the two in the past but the talk of a possible alliance was kept a secret.

“We have started talks today. Our primary goal is to defeat the BJP in Uttar Pradesh, which is suffering from the misrule of Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath. Akhilesh Yadav is in talks with many parties and our meeting today is also a step in that direction.

AAP's UP in-charge Sanjay Singh also advocated opposition unity. "Defeating the BJP should be the primary goal of all opposition parties," he said.

Earlier on Tuesday, SP and RLD indicated that seat-sharing talks between the two parties have reached the final stage and the final draft of seat-sharing will be announced soon.

The SP has already forged an alliance with Om Prakash Rajbhar's Suheldev Bharatiya Samaj Party (SBSP), an ally of the BJP in the 2017 elections. Partnership with SBSP Sankalp Morcha will be part of the SP-led alliance.

Delhi Chief Minister and AAP chief Arvind Kejriwal was supposed to address an employment guarantee rally in Lucknow on November 28, which has now been postponed by the local administration citing the UP teachers' eligibility test to be held on the same day. Last month, Kejriwal had gone to Ayodhya, where he offered prayers at the Ram Lalla temple.

AAP has taken out tricolor yatras in several cities of UP including Noida, Agra, Ayodhya and Lucknow in the last two months. At the same time, it has also been announced that if voted to power, it will provide free electricity to the farmers, while no money will be charged for domestic consumption up to 300 units.

Also Read | After long talks with Akhilesh, Jayant Chaudhary agreed on 36 seats! may be announced soon